Ovo-lacto vegetarianism

Ovo-lacto vegetarianism

An ovo-lacto vegetarian (or lacto-ovo vegetarian) is a vegetarian who does not eat animal flesh of any kind, but consumes dairy and egg products.


  • Etymology 1
  • Diet 2
  • Religion 3
  • References 4
  • See also 5


The terminology stems from the Latin lac meaning "milk" (as in 'lactation'), ovum meaning "egg", and the English term vegetarian (see Etymology of vegetarianism for the etymology of "vegetarian"), so as giving the definition of a vegetarian diet containing milk and eggs.


In the Western World, ovo-lacto vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarian.[1] Generally speaking, when one uses the term vegetarian a ovo-lacto vegetarian is assumed.[2] Ovo-lacto vegetarians are often well-catered to in restaurants and shops, especially in some parts of Europe and metropolitan cities in North America.


In Jainism all individuals eat only food materials derived from plant sources. Jainism prohibits causing harm to any animal, even eggs, as hurting a living being is against the values of Jainism.

In Hinduism many individuals are either raised as ovo-lacto vegetarians or lacto vegetarians. The cow is considered sacred in Hinduism.

The Bible Christian Church was a Christian vegetarian sect founded by William Cowherd in 1809.[3] Cowherd was one of the philosophical forerunners of the Vegetarian Society founded in 1847. The Bible Christian Church promoted the use of eggs, dairy and honey as God’s given food per "the promised land flowing with milk and honey" (Exodus 3:8).[4]

Many Seventh-day Adventist followers are lacto-ovo vegetarians. For over 130 years, Seventh-day Adventists have recommended a vegetarian diet which may include milk products and eggs.[5]


  1. ^ "Top 7 Types of Vegetarians". 
  2. ^ "Vegetarian (Lacto-ovo vegetarian)". 
  3. ^ Julia Twigg (1981). "The Bible Christian Church". International Vegetarian Union. 
  4. ^ John Davis. "A History of Veganism from 1806". International Vegetarian Union. 
  5. ^ 'A Position Statement on The Vegetarian Diet Adapted from the General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists Nutrition Council''"'". SDADA. Retrieved 2011-10-03. 

See also